Executive Recruitment
The town hall, the camera is angled up from the ground

About the Council

Political Composition

The Borough is divided into 20 wards each of which elects three councillors.  Each councillor is elected for up to four years. The current make up of the Council is:

  • Labour - 22
  • Labour and Co-operative 1
  • Conservative - 20
  • Liberal Democrats - 6
  • Farnworth and Kearsley First - 5
  • UK Independence Party (UKIP) - 3
  • Horwich and Blackrod First Independents – 2
  • Independent - 1

The work of the council is carried out through three departments which are overseen by the Cabinet and Executive Cabinet Members. The Cabinet is made up of 10 elected members with different areas of responsibility. The council also works with a variety of private, public and voluntary sector organisations through the Bolton Strategic Partnership, Bolton Vision2030.

Council structure

The Council has three main directorates, covering corporate services, people and place.  There is also a Director of Public Health who reports to the Chief Executive.

Leadership Team Structure

Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA)

Bolton is part of the Greater Manchester Combined Authority.  Greater Manchester is one of the country's most successful city-regions; it is home to more than 2.7 million people and with an economy bigger than that of Wales or Northern Ireland.  The GMCA is made up of the ten Greater Manchester councils and Mayor, who work with other local services, businesses, communities and other partners to improve the city-region.  The ten councils (Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan) have worked together voluntarily for many years on issues that affect everyone in the region, like transport, regeneration, and attracting investment.

For more information please see: https://www.greatermanchester-ca.gov.uk/